At-Home Workouts to Promote Optimism

A recent study, conducted by Gallup, concluded that stay-at-home moms have it tougher in the positivity department than their working counterparts. According to the study, stay-at-home moms are more likely to be depressed than mothers who are employed.

Link: http://www.gallup.com/poll/154685/Stay-Home-Moms-Report-Depression-Sadness-Anger.aspx

But stay-at-home mom or not, everyone could do with a dose of healthy optimism. One of the ways I stay positive is through exercise. In fact, on the days that I don’t workout, I feel less energetic and irritable. Fortunately for me and my family, I get my regular fix of Yoga and Body Pump classes at the gym.

But there are days when going to the gym isn’t an option. Like last week, when my preschooler caught a virus, which forced us to stay home. So, I ended up revisiting my home workout DVD’s.

Here is a list of my favorite at-home workouts:

Walk Away the Pounds Express by Leslie Sansone

I lost all my baby weight, the first time around, with the help of this DVD. The innocuous looking stretchy band that is included with the DVD does amazing things to tone muscle.

The workouts are led by young women, fabulously fit grandmothers and a 70-year-old man. The best part of this easy to follow workout is that you can choose the number of miles you want to walk.

However, the music on the DVD leaves much to be desired. I set Pandora on Katy Perry Radio while working out.

Walk Slim: 5 Really Big Miles by Leslie Sansone’s

This faster-paced DVD has a more contemporary feel to it, and the music is peppier than her previous one.

At this point, I can’t imagine doing the whole five miles, but I pick and choose what I want to do – interval training, strength training, fast mile etc. The steps, again, are easy to follow.

My toddler and preschooler often join me when I use this DVD.

A.M. and P.M Yoga by Rodney Yee and Patricia Walden

The duration of each of these workouts is about 15-20 minutes. The A.M. stretches leave me calm, peaceful, centered and energized. It’s a great way to start the morning.

But they are beginner level workouts, which are not as challenging as my regular yoga class.

I also don’t recommend doing this workout when the kids are around. It’s kind of hard to stretch and relax with a toddler parked on your tummy. I learned that the hard way.

How do you stay positive, healthy and fit when you are stuck indoors?

What are your favorite at-home workouts?

This entry was posted in health, motherhood, motivation, parenting, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

